“I Could Commit Murder Today.” On the Power of Anger

Do you ever get those days when you think you would be well within reason of taking someone else’s life? You know, when everyone and everything is getting on your last nerve, and you’re dumbfounded at the stupidity, of every being that you have the misfortune of interacting with.

You listen to some soothing music, mediate, and then bash out five sets of fifty push-ups. However that burning rage inside you, ceases to subside.

I have been in this headspace for the last couple of days now, and it’s not pleasant. I don’t want to feel like this, but I’m having great difficulty managing my anger. It’s like I’m a ticking time bomb, that could go off at any second.

So why am I feeling like this? It’s definitely not PMT, nothing is explicitly awful enough to warrant these feelings, so why are they constantly with me these days?

Anger is usually a sign that something needs to change. If you look throughout history, major changes like the Civil Rights Movement, were born out of anger and frustration at the way things were. A decision was made that enough was enough, and black people were not going to put up with mistreatment any longer. Anger is thus extremely powerful.

I’ve realised I’m angry because I’ve had enough of accepting crap. I’m frustrated at the lack of autonomy I have in my life right now. Sick of feeling stuck in undesirable situations. I need something better. I want something better. I deserve something. Most importantly, I have the power to make something better.

Next time you feel that raging, firery anger inside you, look into it deeply, seek to understand it, and use its power to change your situation.

Love and positive vibrations. Sxxx.